Clifton Team Wins South Western Region Firefighter Championships

Paul McKenzie, Bob Collins, Gary Saville and David Egan representing the Clifton Firefighting Team took out the Title of 2012 Champion Firefighter Team at the Queensland Fire and Rescue Service (QFRS) South Western Region (SWR) Firefighter Championships held on Saturday 23rd June at the Toowoomba Christian College, Highfields.

They were presented their awards at the presentation dinner held at the Highfields Tavern on Saturday evening.

Following close on their heels to take out the Runners Up Champion Firefighter Team Award was the Jandowae crew, Paul Wood, Russell Schwerin, James Oliffe and John Trcka. Paul Schwerin from Jandowae was named the 2012 Champion Firefighter with Rohan Greer from Cambooya taking out the Runner up Title.

Highfields Team, Jason Spies, Brett Kelly, Jack Thorpe and Steve Collins were presented with the Encouragement Team Award.

The winning teams will now go on to represent QFRS SWR at the 2012 State Firefighter Championships to be held at Hervey Bay in August.

Submitted by:
Di Warr
QFRS Community Liaison Officer

Previous Post

Council Connections: Week 4, June 2012

Next Post

Council Connections: Week 3, June 2012

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: